BLAME (FICTION SERIES)

BLAME ——— 8TH CHAPTER

BLAME

Grace sipped on her cocktail while watching Douglas get fitted for his suit.

“I still don’t get why I am the one you called instead of your Diana” she said. Douglas checked himself out in the mirror, finding that the trousers weren’t too comfortable and asking the store attendant for another to try on.

“I wanted your company, not Diana’s” he said looking at her reflection in the mirror.

Grace smiled. “Like seriously, you have a girlfriend and I am the one that you keep calling. Did you even tell her you were in the hospital? Did she come to visit?” she asked and as Douglas’ face fell, she figured out the answer to her question.

“Is there something you are not telling me?”

“I called her when I was finally able to and she was angry. I missed her birthday and my explanation was not enough. She has not picked my calls since and I stopped calling” He finally said.

Grace nodded “Glad she showed her true color. You refused to see her for who she was”

Douglas sighed “Are you going to raise this now?” he asked gesturing at the clothes on the rack “I asked you here to help me pick my outfit”

“I am here. So we may as well talk about it” Grace said persisting as he walked to the changing area. “Don’t think I did not notice how you avoid answering when I asked you on several occasions” she added, raising her voice so he could hear her.

“You want everyone to hear what we are talking about?” he said embarrassed. Grace looked around the store while sipping on her drink.

“We are the only ones here, that’s why you insisted we come so early” Grace said smiling “So tell me, what’s up?”

Douglas, taking a deep breath as he tried on the third outfit that he seemed to like, turned to face her “She slapped me”

Grace was taken aback and almost spilled her drink “Ehn! When, Where and How?”

Douglas gestured to her and went in to change back to his casual clothes. Handing over the clothes that he had picked, he joined Grace and took the drink that he was offered.

“I went to see her two days before I fell and we got into an argument. When I did not agree with her on how she was going to spend her birthday, I got a slap and was told to get out of the house”

Grace dramatically closed her mouth and clicked her tongue “Damn it! You try o! And you did  not retaliate?”

Douglas shook his head “I would never hit a woman, I am not my father”

Grace knew she had struck a nerve and quickly leaned forward. taking his hand in hers, she spoke softly “I am so sorry. I did not mean to imply that. you are definitely not like him in any way and Diana does not deserve you one bit.”

Putting a hand on his back, she felt him breathe heavily as he fondled with his drink. “I did not think anything of it till I called her from the hospital and heard the choice of words she had for me. I decided I was done.”

“You broke up?”

“Yes,” he replied leaning back in the chair. He turned to her and smiled “You should be glad at that”

Grace shook her head and nodded at the same time. “I am happy that you are out of what was a toxic relationship but I am not happy that you are sad”

“I have a friend like you so I think I will be fine” Douglas said as he collected the clothes after swiping his card.

After a silent drive, Grace parked her car in front of his house and turned to him.

“You can tell me if you are not ok you know?”

Douglas looked at her and smiled “Will you be my girlfriend?” he asked, startling Grace.

“Oh my. That was not expected” she managed to say “Why are you asking me this?”

“Because when Diana started showing her true colors I understood all you have been saying and realized I made a mistake. I had a good thing with you and I ignored you all this while. So I was not hurt when it happened, I was just awoken”

Grace faced the steering wheel and for a moment looked as though she was going to cry. When a smile broke out on her face, Douglas started to smile in relief.

“Took you long enough,” she said as she turned back to him “Was beginning to think you were blind, bewitched or just plain stupid”

Douglas laughed as he drew her in and planted a sensual kiss on her lips, losing themselves to the buried emotions that had been buried deep for a long time coming.


The wedding reception was overwhelming and Douglas had had enough by the time the live band had taken over when all rites had been performed.

“Can we please leave?” He asked Grace when she returned to the table after another round of dancing. She laughed.

“Ok, sorry. I know that you have been begging to leave” Grace said loudly trying to get heard over the music. “We can go in 10 minutes. Lemme go get your sisters”

Douglas nodded, rolling his eyes knowingly. They came back 30 minutes later.

“Sorry nau”Kike said laughing at the look on her brother’s face. “We can go now”

All 4 of them stumbled out of the hall and into the car and in time, they were home.

“Will he drop you at home?” Juliet asked Grace as they got out of the car and started heading toward the house.

“Which drop?” Douglas said as he helped Kike with her shoes “She’s spending the night here and tomorrow, when the hangover clears, I will go drop her”

They laughed as they entered the house and bidding each other good night, headed to their rooms. As they watched their brother walk down the corridor to his room with Grace by his side, the sisters laughed under their breath. It was a joy to see him happy as it had been a long time coming indeed.

 

THE END

 

Leave a comment