VIEWS AND OPINIONS

3 GAINS OF SOCIAL MEDIA WRITING CHALLENGES

SOCIAL MEDIA WRITING CHALLENGESLanguage Day (1).png

 

 

Since the beginning of the year, I have been taking part in #writingchallenges on Instagram and Facebook that have been a whole lot of fun. Social media is rife with alot of “challenges” that range from the absurd and dangerous to the beneficial and rewarding.

The writing challenges have been beneficial to me in the following ways

  1. STEADY CONTENT
  2. WRITING EXERCISE
  3. NETWORKING & SUPPORT

1. STEADY CONTENT

Despite the fact that there are days that I am unable to post any of the prompts, I still have content on my pages on a steady. I can catch up at any time and fill up my page with a varying degree of interesting views.

2. WRITING EXERCISE

I am not a believer in writer’s block. I feel that there is a time that writers need to search extra hard for inspiration to write. A writing challenge such as this allows me to dig deep and summon the ideas that lay within. Persistence is key and even when there is no will to write, the daily prompts give that extra push to write no matter how it comes out.

3. NETWORKING & SUPPORT

I have in only 2 months made friends across all works of life. It is an experience to interact with writers and authors from everywhere else in the world. There is never a lack of support in the community and on more than one occasion I have gotten a few ideas as well as fleshed out a few as well. Thay support is uplifting and whatever troubles each person can be shared as we are sure to have each other’s advise and support.

There are two I am presently involved in namely

1. #theAuthorschallenge2019

IMG_20190215_143006_776

Like other challenges on social media, this challenge engages participants with varying prompts on which they are to write or provide visual interpretations and representations. Started by Debra Torres who is an author of Amish suspense novels and a blogger at www.simplyjesusblog.com , the challenge is about to enter into the March edition. It is looking like it will go on for the whole year and I am eager to see it through to the very end.

2. #ppkvalwritingchallenge2

preciouspenkreations-1550963448910

This just ended and happened on the closed Facebook page of Precious Pen Kreations Network. Started last year, it is only for the month of February and the winner of this walks away with a publishing deal with Precious Pen. It was a fun experience, even though it was a bit stressful combining it with my 7 to 5 employment and other matters arising. The themes ranged from poetry to stories and on the days when there is no theme, the writers are free to exhibit and express their talents to the fullest.

 

I suggest this for any writer as it is an opportunity to keep writing no matter the mood or how busy one may be. It is the best way to fight writer’s block and a chance to discover one’s niche as well as writing style if this has not already been concluded on.

Enjoy the experience!

1 thought on “3 GAINS OF SOCIAL MEDIA WRITING CHALLENGES”

Leave a comment